Guest Article: Outselling a Price Slasher, by Dave Stein

Worth Reading. Great article on Outselling a Price Slasher by Dave Stein

Sales and Sales Management Blog

Outselling a Price Slasher
by Dave Stein

I’ve been getting emails recently from salesreps and managers asking me to provide advice on how to overcome competitors who slash prices to win. Although I’m certainly capable of providing guidance, it occurred to me that I had a section in my 2004 book How Winners Sell addressing that.  So, after a bit of editing, here is the adaptation:

How do you compete against a competitor that drastically discounts at the last minute to win business?

Early in evaluation cycles prospects may say that price is a consideration, but not first on their list. Later on, once they have ignored or devalued any unique capabilities that your product or service can provide—to the point where they “can see no measurable difference between your offering and your competitor’s” — price gets elevated to the number one consideration. We’ve all seen it happen. By that…

View original post 1,293 more words

This entry was posted in SalesGayan. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Guest Article: Outselling a Price Slasher, by Dave Stein

  1. Hello there! This is kind of off topic but I need some advice from an established blog.
    Is it very hard to set up your own blog? I’m not very techincal but I can figure things out pretty fast. I’m thinking about creating my own but
    I’m not sure where to start. Do you have any tips or suggestions? Cheers

Leave a Reply

